18+ Gamble responsibly. Free, confidential help 24/7:Free help 24/7: 1800 858 858We earn commission from partner links
Partner casinos

Casino review

Uptown Pokies review: 24 blocked domains, no named owner and a $50 cap on free cash

Uptown Pokies sells itself to Australians in Aussie slang, but ACMA has blocked 24 of its domains and the site never says who runs it. Here is what its own terms allow you to withdraw.

Uptown Pokies 3.1/10 PokiePundit score On ACMA blocked list How we score

Uptown Pokies at a glance

Desk review, checked 8 October 2026

On ACMA's blocked gambling websites list. ACMA asks Australian internet providers to block sites it finds offering illegal gambling services. We do not link to blocked sites.

ACMA statusOn ACMA's blocked gambling websites list
Weekly withdrawal capUp to $5,000 (terms) or $2,500 a week and $10,000 a month (banking page), 8 Oct 2026
Per withdrawal$100 to $2,500; bank transfer fee $60
Payout time72 business hours after verification (3 to 5 business days)
Max bet with a bonus$10
No deposit cash-out cap5x the bonus; $180 USD across free money offers
Inactive accountsBalance voided after 12 months

3.1/10 PokiePundit score (how we rate)

Payments and withdrawals (25%)4.0
Terms fairness (20%)3.0
Safety and licence (20%)1.0
Responsible gambling tools (15%)3.0
Games and RTP transparency (10%)3.5
Support (10%)5.0

Good

  • 24/7 live chat, email and a book-a-call option
  • Payment table shows minimums, per-transfer limits and fees in one place
  • Welcome match states no maximum cash-out

Watch out

  • 24 domains on ACMA's blocked list
  • No company or licence named anywhere on the site
  • Weekly cap differs between the terms and the banking page
  • Balance voided after 12 months without play
  • Self-exclusion only by email, minimum 6 months

Key facts

  • ACMA's blocked list (snapshot 8 Oct 2026) includes uptownpokies.com and 23 other Uptown Pokies domains.
  • Neither the terms (version 1.4, 21 May 2026) nor the footer names a company or a licence.
  • In 2022 ACMA formally warned a software supplier for providing RTG games to 13 illegal casinos, Uptown Pokies among them.
  • Withdrawal caps conflict: the terms say up to $5,000 a week, the banking page says $2,500 a week and $10,000 a month.
  • No deposit credits are capped at 5x the bonus, so the advertised $10 free bonus can pay out $50 at most.

Uptown Pokies review in brief

Uptown Pokies is a pokies-first offshore casino written for Australians ("Legend!", "quick smart"), and it scores 3.1 out of 10 with us. The single most important fact: ACMA's blocked gambling websites list carries uptownpokies.com and 23 more Uptown Pokies domains, and the site itself never tells you which company you would be handing your money to.

We read its terms, banking, promotions, support and responsible gaming pages on 8 October 2026 for this desk review. Nobody from PokiePundit deposited or played.

No. The Interactive Gambling Act 2001 bans offering online pokies and casino games to people in Australia, and ACMA puts sites it finds doing so on its blocked gambling websites list. On our 8 October 2026 snapshot that list included 24 Uptown Pokies addresses, from uptownpokies.com to variations like uptownpokiesau.com and vipuptownpokies.com. A similarly named casino, Uptown Aces, is listed as well.

ACMA has gone further than blocking. In August 2022 it formally warned Proxous Advanced Solutions Limited, which sub-licensed Realtime Gaming (RTG) software to 13 casinos ACMA said were operating illegally in Australia. Uptown Pokies was on that list, alongside Fair Go, Ozwin, Aussie Play and Play Croco.

The law's penalties fall on the provider. For you the practical risk is different: if a payout is refused, no Australian regulator or ombudsman can step in. If you want the full legal picture, start with are online pokies legal in Australia.

Who runs Uptown Pokies?

We could not find out. The terms describe "Uptown Pokies" as "the trade name of Uptown Pokies", and the footer, privacy policy and terms carry no company name, registration number, address or licence. Compare that with the casinos that at least name a company and a licence number you can check.

Three other details stood out:

  • Jurisdiction clause without a list. There is no restricted-country list. The terms say services are "not made available to persons who are physically present in a jurisdiction where prohibited", which leaves the decision to you.
  • Card deposits are still on the menu. Visa and Mastercard sit next to Neosurf, CashtoCode, eZeeWallet, Apple Pay, Google Pay and five cryptocurrencies.
  • Coinjar is recommended "for our Aussie players" in the homepage Bitcoin section, another sign of who the site is aimed at.

Uptown Pokies login problems

If the site will not load, the likeliest reason is the ISP block: ACMA asks Australian internet providers to stop access to listed domains. The casino's own homepage links to a numbered mirror address, which is how blocked brands keep trading. Reaching a mirror does not change who you are dealing with or what happens if there is a dispute.

Withdrawal limits and payout times

The two pages that set the limits disagree.

RuleTerms and conditionsBanking page
Weekly cap"Up to $5,000 per week", varies by VIP status$2,500 a week
Monthly capNot stated$10,000 a month
Per withdrawalNot stated$100 minimum, $2,500 maximum
Bank transfer feeNot stated$60
E-wallet and crypto feeNot statedFree

Verification comes first. The banking FAQ says it takes 3 to 5 business days, weekends and holidays excluded, once all documents are received, and that withdrawals are processed within 72 business hours after that. A first withdrawal can therefore sit for well over a week before it is even sent.

A worked example. Say you win $6,000 and want it by bank transfer. At the banking page's $2,500 weekly cap that is three weekly payments ($2,500, $2,500, $1,000), and three $60 fees take $180, or 3% of the win. Under the terms' $5,000 cap it would be two payments and $120. Ask support which figure applies to your account before you deposit, and keep the answer in writing.

One more rule: a deposit that has not been "turned over at least once" cannot be withdrawn. Deposit $200, change your mind, and you must bet $200 before you can take it back.

The $10 free bonus and the 250% welcome, run through the terms

On 8 October 2026 the homepage advertised a $10 free bonus with no deposit needed, and a 250% match up to $2,500 on the first deposit. Here is what the terms do to each. We assume the pokies return 96% for the maths; Uptown does not publish per-game return figures we could check.

$10 no deposit bonus$100 deposit + 250% match
Wagering rule60x the bonus30x deposit plus bonus
Amount you must bet$600$350 x 30 = $10,500
Expected loss on those bets at 96%$24$420
Most you can cash out$50 (5x the bonus)No cap stated
Fewest spins at the $10 max bet601,050

The expected loss is bigger than the balance in both columns, which is why most players bust a bonus before finishing it. The free bonus has extra strings: winnings across free money offers are capped at $180 USD in total, a free-bonus withdrawal of $25 to $50 needs a utility bill matching your address, and if your last deposit is more than three months old the winnings may be voided. Our no deposit bonus guide explains why caps like these matter more than the headline number, and the wagering requirements calculator lets you try other amounts.

Table games, video poker and non-slot games do not count towards wagering, nine progressive jackpot titles are excluded, and red or black roulette bets with a bonus void the winnings.

Clauses that can cost you your balance

  • 12 months idle and the balance is gone. "Accounts inactive for 12 months or more will be classified as inactive, with any remaining balance voided."
  • Account closure "for any reason". The casino can cancel an account without notice and void winnings in eleven listed situations, including "bonus abuser" and low-risk play.
  • 14 days to dispute. Complaints about a game outcome must be made in writing within fourteen days.
  • Your name can be used. Accepting winnings means consenting to your name being used in advertising.

Responsible gambling tools

The responsible gaming page offers budget restrictions on request and self-exclusion by email for at least six months, with promotional emails stopped during that time. It mentions deposit and time limits on a "player protection" page, but nothing self-service that we could confirm without an account. If gambling is costing you more than you planned, Gambling Help Online is free and open 24/7 on 1800 858 858.

Games and support

The games page claims 399+ pokies, 20+ table games and 3+ crash games, while the homepage says "over 350 games" and the same games page also says "over 250". No provider is named on the site; the titles (Cash Bandits 3, Sweet 16, Cleopatra's Gold) and ACMA's 2022 finding point to RTG. Support is the strongest part: live chat around the clock, email with a same-day reply target, and a form to book a phone call.

How we scored it

  • Payments 4.0: clear fee table and crypto options, but a $60 bank fee, a slow first payout and two different weekly caps.
  • Terms 3.0: 30x welcome wagering is ordinary; 60x free bonuses, the 5x cap and the 12-month balance wipe are not.
  • Safety 1.0: 24 blocked domains, a 2022 ACMA warning naming its software supply, and no company or licence named.
  • Responsible gambling 3.0: self-exclusion and limits exist only by request.
  • Games 3.5: conflicting game counts, no provider or return figures shown.
  • Support 5.0: three channels, 24/7; we did not test answer quality.

That weights to 3.1 out of 10. The method is on our how we rate casinos page.

Our partner sites

Terms checked 8 to 9 October 2026

We earn a commission if you join through these links; it pays for the site and does not change the facts we show. Listed in no particular order. Every detail comes from the casino's own terms, except ACMA notes, which come from ACMA's blocked list. These are offshore casinos without an Australian licence, so BetStop and Australian dispute services do not cover them: read whether online pokies are legal in Australia and our affiliate disclosure.Commission links. Offshore sites with no Australian licence or BetStop cover: is it legal?

LuckyOnes

Partner · termsTerms checked 9 Oct 2026
Visit LuckyOnesVisit 18+ Affiliate link · T&Cs apply
Withdrawals
AUD 6,000 a day
Max bet (bonus)
AUD 8
Min deposit
AUD 30
  • Names no licence or operating company in its terms or footer
  • luckyones.com, luckyones1.com and luckyones7.com are on ACMA's blocked list (8 Oct 2026)Main domain on ACMA's blocked list

Wild Tokyo

Partner · termsTerms checked 8 Oct 2026
Visit Wild TokyoVisit 18+ Affiliate link · T&Cs apply
Withdrawals (entry)
AUD 800 a day
Max bet (bonus)
AUD 8
Monthly cap (entry)
AUD 13,000
  • States a Curacao eGaming licence (no number shown)

18+ Offers and terms change often; the casino's own terms always apply. Never gamble money you need. Free help: Gambling Help 1800 858 858, 24/7.

Frequently asked questions

Is Uptown Pokies legit?

It is an operating casino, but we could not find a company name or a licence anywhere on its site, and ACMA has blocked 24 of its domains as an illegal gambling service. That leaves no regulator to complain to if a withdrawal is refused.

Is Uptown Pokies legal in Australia?

No. Online pokies cannot legally be offered to people in Australia under the Interactive Gambling Act 2001, and ACMA lists uptownpokies.com on its blocked gambling websites list. The Act's offences are aimed at the operator rather than the player.

Why can't I log in to Uptown Pokies from Australia?

ACMA asks Australian internet providers to block sites on its list, and 24 Uptown Pokies domains are on it, so the site may simply not load. Using a different domain or a VPN to get around a block does not give you any extra protection.

How long do Uptown Pokies withdrawals take?

Its banking page says verification takes 3 to 5 business days once documents arrive, and withdrawals are then processed within 72 business hours. Bank transfers carry a $60 fee; e-wallet and crypto payouts are listed as free.

Does Uptown Pokies have a no deposit bonus?

Its homepage advertised a $10 free bonus with no deposit on 8 October 2026. Under its terms, free bonuses need 60x wagering and no deposit credits can be cashed out at no more than 5 times the bonus, so $50.

Who owns Uptown Pokies?

The site does not say. Its terms call it 'the trade name of Uptown Pokies' and name no company, registration number or licence. ACMA's 2022 warning to Proxous Advanced Solutions shows its games came from a Realtime Gaming sub-licensor.

Related reading

Sources

Official pages we relied on. If anything here has changed, tell us via the contact page and we fix it.

  1. ACMA: Blocked gambling websites
  2. ACMA: Software company Proxous warned for providing gaming products to illegal online casinos
  3. ACMA: Protect yourself from illegal gambling operators